Apple Cider Chicken Thighs in the Slow Cooker

When I first started this blog I had no idea I would be posting recipes so often but that is what I find myself doing. I have always loved cooking & baking so it feels natural for me to share my passion. I also had no idea that so many of my recipes include chicken thighs- I swear the Creighton household does not discriminate against the other parts of the chicken, or against other meats for that matter. We eat it all here at la Casa Creighton- white meat, red mead, fish, vegetarian…there is almost nothing I wouldn’t try once. Chicken thighs just happened to be on sale for an awesome price at Sobeys last week. And when I woke up this morning there was a definitely Fall chill in the air and this recipe came to mind immediately. Apple cider, sweet potatoes and a slow cooker- if that doesn’t have Fall written all over it then I don’t know what does. Plus it is made with all basic ingredients you would find in my cupboards on any given day- always a bonus.  I cannot take the credit for this delicious recipe- I found it at Simple Nourished Living and make a couple little tweaks. Here is what you’ll need:

  • 1 package of boneless, skinless chicken thighs
  • 2 large sweet potatoes
  • 2 large potatoes
  • 1 large onion
  • 2 cloves of garlic
  • 1 & 1/4 cup chicken broth
  • 1 cup apple cider ( I had to substitute apple juice because I was all out of cider)
  • 1 tbsp apple cider vinegar
  • 1/2 tsp sage
  • 1/2 tsp thyme
  • salt & pepper to taste

Place the chicken thighs on the bottom of the slow cooker & season with salt & pepper. Then add the chopped up potatoes & sweet potatoes. In a large bowl, mix together all the other ingredients & pour over the chicken, potatoes & sweet potatoes. Cook on high for 3-4 hours or low for 6 hours and Enjoy! So easy!

 

Leave a Reply

