Apple & Goat Cheese Salad

Today I thought I would share with you one of my favorite lunches of all time. Ever since going gluten-free I find lunch the most challenging meal of the day- breakfast is easy and most supper dishes (meat, carb, veggies) are naturally gluten free but lunch is difficult. Everything quick & easy (sandwich, canned soups, frozen dinners, fast food) are glutenous. So my solution is trying to always have leftovers or homemade soup or salad. My wonderful sister-in-law made this salad for us when we went to visit her a few years ago and ever since it has become a staple in the Creighton household. Mr.Creighton is not a huge fan of salads and he LOVES this one. It is quick to prep, full of healthy ingredients and very versatile. I give you- Apple & Goat Cheese Salad.

Ingredients:

  • an apple (can substitute any fruit-pear, strawberries, mandarin oranges
  • spring green mix (or baby spinach)
  • goat cheese crumbles
  • walnuts (or almonds, sunflower seeds, pumpkins seeds, basically any seed or nut or a mix. I usually aim for 1 type or seed and one type of nut)
  • Raspberry vinagrette (popyseed is also delicious)

It makes a perfect side to a summer dinner and is filling enough to be a lunch on all on its own. Channeling my hero Julia Child- Bon Appetit!

Leave a Reply

