Mustard Chicken

I love weekend mornings. In particular the weekend mornings when neither JD nor I have anything we have to do and can spend the morning just relaxing in our PJs. It is a cool & rainy Fall morning and I am snuggled up on our couch with the two dogs curled up at my feet, a cup of coffee in hand, reading blogs and could not be happier. There is no better feeling that enjoying a leisurely morning after a hectic work week and I am savoring every moment.

I have a new recipe baking in the oven for breakfast ( Raspberry Baked Finnish Pancakes- coming to la Casa Creighton any day now!) but the recipe I wanted to share with you today is one of my favorites. In fact, that was exactly what JD said to me yesterday as we were sitting down to eat “I think this is your favorite supper meal, isn’t it?”. And it is. I got it from the Everyday Cooking “Fresh Flavors Fast” cookbook a couple years ago and it has become part of our normal rotation ever since. It is quick to prep (less than 30 minutes) so is perfect for the nights when JD & I have both worked a long day and I don’t have my usual enthusiasm towards cooking dinner but always tastes delicious.One warning though- it does contain quite a bit of whipped cream so it isn’t exactly a low calorie dish. I have tried making it using skim milk or almond milk instead but in this case it is definitely worth the extra calories to use real whipped cream.

Mustard Chicken (serves 3-4)

Image

  • 2 boneless, skinless chicken breasts (cut into thin pieces so they cook up fast)
  • 1 cup whipping cream
  • 1/2 cup chicken broth
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 2 tbsp dijon mustard
  • salt & pepper to taste
  • 1 cup cooked basmati rice

Season the chicken breasts with salt and pepper and cook in olive oil until cooked all the way through (about 10 minutes). Remove the chicken and add the chicken broth to the skillet and cook until the liquid has been reduced by about half. Add the whipping cream and mustard and bring to a gentle boil. Remove from heat and this is where the magic happens- the sauce will thicken up a little. Pour the sauce over the rice and chicken and Enjoy! I usually serve with a side salad as the dish is fairly rich & salty itself.

Image

Leave a Reply

