Crockpot Apple Ginger Pork

I am one proud kitty-mama this morning. The hubby finally got around to installing the cat door we bought for Ernie about a month ago and my fat cat fit through it! From the day JD brought it home I was pretty skeptical that Ernie would be able to squeeze himself through such a tiny opening- but he did it!! I have never been so happy. (Well, that is probably being a little dramatic, but I am happy to cross another item off our house reno to-do list.)
While JD was laboring away drilling a hole in our new door (I admit- it made me a little nervous!) I was in the kitchen testing out another new recipe from a new website I stumbled upon (PaleOMG) that is just perfect for anyone interested in a Paleo lifestyle. I have been doing lots of reading on Paleo and love most their recipes because they are, by nature, gluten-free. However, this woman likes carbs WAY too much to commit to a fully Paleo lifestyle- but I highly recommend almost every recipe from PaleOMG- I went a little nuts pinning her recipes on Pinterest and cannot wait to try more of them since this first one turned out so delicious. It is especially perfect for this cooler weather- the apples & spices combo made it a really great comfort food. I slightly modified her original recipe.

Crockpot Apple Ginger Pork

  • 6 boneless, skinless pork chops
  • 1 large onion
  • 3-4 medium sized apples
  • 1 cup chicken broth
  • 1 tbsp honey
  • 2 tbsp ginger
  • 1 tbsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp paprika
  • 2 garlic cloves
  • 1 bay leaf

Chop up the onion & garlic and layer it in the bottom of your crockpot and pour the chicken broth on top. Place the porkchops on top of the onions ( I did not even defrost my pork chops first- just threw them in frozen). Peel the skins of the apples & layer them on top of the porkchops. Sprinkle the ginger, cinnaamon, paprika, bay leaf and honey on top. Cook on low for 7-8 hours. The top layer will get a little brown but it is not burnt-trust me!

 

Leave a Reply

