Sweet and Sour Chicken Thighs

I find it hard to believe that just 6 years ago I barely knew how to cook or bake anything and would never have the ambition to ever modify a recipe at all. If I did make anything, I followed that recipe to perfection. During my university years, I was preoccupied with schoolwork and the university social life- I didn’t have any time or desire to spend what little free time I had in the kitchen. But then 6 years ago I found myself graduated, married, actually working for a living- and with a lot more free time. It was during this time that I realized how enjoyable cooking can be.

In those “early days” I relied heavily on my family and coworkers for recipe ideas as it would never occur to me to browse recipes online and the only cookbooks I owned were those that had been given to me as wedding gifts. How times have changed. I now collect cookbooks like I am trying to make my own little culinary library. However, there are some recipes from back then that are still among my favorite today- and this sweet and sour chicken is one of them. It is so easy to prepare and I have served it to picky eaters of all ages who all devour it. It is a basic, tasty recipe that appeals to almost everyone (seriously- who doesn’t like sweet and sour sauce?)

Sweet and Sour Chicken Thighs

  • 1 pack or 6-8 chicken thighs
  • 1 cup ketchup
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup vinegar

Preheat oven to 375 and place chicken thighs in a casserole dish. Mix together the ketchup, sugar and vinegar in a saucepan on the stove and bring to a gentle boil. Pour the sauce over the chicken thighs and cover the dish. Bake for 1 hour. This tastes amazing served over basmati rice.

Leave a Reply

