Maple Balsamic Crusted Pork Tenderloin

Happy Halloween Eve! I had planned on spending the evening dressing up in our costumes ( the dogs & I all have superhero costumes!) and taking some family pictures but  I ended up bringing in some wood and falling asleep. What an exciting life I lead! However, with all the rain forecast for the next couple of days the wood had to be brought in. I will thank myself later when it is cold outside and nice and toasty inside. When we first moved into our old home it was heated only by oil and let me tell you, that first winter was a COLD and EXPENSIVE one! After that first winter we knew we couldn’t survive on oil alone ( I like to be nice and warm in the winter!) so we invested in a wood furnace. I refer to it as my best purchase of life. It completely changed my winters- our house went from freezing to nice and toasty. I don’t think anything can quite compare to the comfort and heat of a wood stove. And honestly, I don’t really mind the all the labor that it involves. I count bringing in the wood as my exercise for the day and it makes my Type-A personality smile to know I have accomplished something. So as dull as spending a Tuesday evening bringing in wood and napping on the couch sounds, it was a pretty good evening for me. But before all that hard work and nap time I experimented in the kitchen with a new recipe for supper- and it delivered! I was a little concerned at first, as the smell of the apple cider vinegar was a little overwhelming- but the end result was delicious. A nice and tender tenderloin with a savoury, crunchy crust. A perfect meal.

Maple Balsamic Crusted Pork Tenderloin

  • 1 pork tenderloin
  • 4 tbsp maple syrup
  • 2 tbsp apple cider vinegar
  • 1 tbsp grainy mustard
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • salt & pepper to taste
  • 1/2-1 tbsp thyme

Preheat the oven to 325. Place the tenderloin in a baking dish and coat with the olive oil and season with salt, pepper and thyme. In a small bowl mix together the maple syrup, cider vinegar and mustard. Pour over the tenderloin  and cook for 60 minutes. ( I just use my meat thermometer to assess doneness. I’m fancy like that)

 

 

Leave a Reply

